My Mini-Christmas Cake Part 2…

“Family are like fruit cake at Christmas…some nutty, some soaked in alcohol, some sweet, but mix them all together and they are the ingredients for a perfect Christmas.”

-Unknown

I do like marzipan and sweet icing on a good fruit cake, but not too much…

so I only decorate the top of the cake and use a ribbon to go round the sides.

FullSizeRender

Unwrap your Mini-Christmas Cake…let’s get started!

IMG_2972

For the glaze I like to use my Juicy Orange jam, omitting the basil.

IMG_2974

Brush the glaze on top of the cake.

Ingredients:

  • 2 prepared cakes
  • 250g white marzipan
  • 250g ready to roll white icing
  • 2 tbs warmed jam, for glaze
  • 1 egg white
  • Some caster sugar, for frosting
  • Some pomegranate seeds
  • Sprig of rosemary
  • 2 cinnamon sticks

IMG_2973

Roll out to about 5mm.

IMG_2975

Place on top of the glaze.

IMG_2976

Roll and cut out the white icing.

IMG_2977

Wash the marzipan with water.

Method:

  1. Heat some jam, then let it cool.
  2. Use a pastry brush to put the jam glaze on the top of the cake.
  3. Roll out the marzipan, then using the cake tin base as a template, cut out a disc and place it on top of the glaze.
  4.  Brush the marzipan top some with boiled water.
  5. Roll out the white icing and cut out another disc using the tin template.
  6. Place this onto of the water washed marzipan.
  7. Smooth  the edges with a warmed palette knife.
  8. Whisk some egg white, coat the pomegranate seeds and rosemary, then roll in caster sugar to frost and leave to dry.
  9. Arrange on top of the cake with a broken cinnamon stick and dust with icing sugar.
  10. Tie a ribbon around the cake and it’s ready!

IMG_2978

Use a warm knife to smooth the edges.

IMG_2964

Ready to serve or give as a gift!

You can add any fruit, nuts or toppers to decorate the cake.

IMG_2993

This cake is not too rich or too boozy!

 I hope you enjoy it,

Frances 😊

 

18 thoughts on “My Mini-Christmas Cake Part 2…

  1. Pingback: My Mini-Christmas Cake Part 1… | Loving Leisure Time

  2. Pingback: Liebester Award | Lin's Recipes

  3. I agree that icing just the top of the cake is enough. It gets overpowering, and far too sweet, around the edges as well. I have to admit, I’ve never tried ready-to-use icing. I’ve always made my own, and I made my own almond paste/marzipan until a couple of years ago. That’s how I was taught at school back in the early 1960s, so I’ve stuck to that method. I love the decorations you put on the top. They look really effective.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

