Chorizo and Red Lentil for Souper-Saturday…

“Good soup is one of the prime ingredients for good living.”

-Lousie P. de Gouy

This is a hearty soup with a lovely smoky flavour.

IMG_2655

Great ingredients make super soup!

IMG_2657

Just look at all the oils oozing from the chorizo!

IMG_2658

Add the onion, carrot garlic and a good pinch of cumin.

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 75g cooking chorizo, diced
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 carrots, chopped
  • 2 potatoes
  • 2 large tomatoes, chopped
  • Pinch of cumin
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • Pinch of golden caster sugar
  • Dash of red wine vinegar
  • 125g red lentils
  • 500g passata
  • 700ml chicken stock
  • Grinding of sea salt, black pepper and cayenne

IMG_2659

Don’t forget the cubed potatoes!

IMG_2660

In goes the essential Hungarian Paprika!

IMG_2661

Now the tomatoes and red lentils.

IMG_2662

Finally the stock and passata!

Method:

  1. Heat the oil in a large pan. Add the chorizo and cook until crisp and it has released its oils.
  2. Next sauté the onion, carrots and cumin seeds, then add in the cubed potato and cook for 5 minutes.
  3. Next add the garlic and fry for 1 minute, scatter over the paprika and sugar, cook for 1 min, then splash in the vinegar.
  4. Simmer for a moment, stir in the lentils and tomatoes and then pour in the passata and chicken stock.
  5. Give it a good stir, then simmer for 30 mins or until the lentils are tender.
  6. Blitz with a hand blender.
  7. Adjust seasoning to taste using salt, black pepper and cayenne.

IMG_2663

Cover and simmer until the lentils are soft.

IMG_2664

Blitz, but leave some chunky pieces for extra texture.

IMG_2676

To serve, swirl in some soured cream, sprinkle on some crispy chorizo and finish with a dusting of smoked paprika.

This soup is great with my Smoky Chorizo and Parmesan Scones.

Definitely one for a cold November night,

Frances 🍲

14 thoughts on “Chorizo and Red Lentil for Souper-Saturday…

  1. Frances, I’m not sure what’s going on with my follow button, but I assumed I’d been following you for a while now. The ‘follow’ sign that pops up at the bottom right tells me I don’t! Surely I haven’t hit it accidentally again? I only noticed when I went to scroll up the page again after posting the comment above. I’ve just clicked on it on again! I’m so sorry about this. Please let me know if it happens again. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • It’s just worrying, not knowing when I did stop following you. I really don’t like the new position of the ‘follow’ invitation. It’s far too easy to catch unintentionally. As I said, please let me kow if it happens again. I really like your blog, Frances, and wouldn’t intentionally unfollow.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

