Listen to the Rhythm of the Falling Rain….

“The best thing one can do when it’s raining is to let it rain.”

-Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

rain-692985__180

My outdoor yoga has been going really well this month. The first thing I do in the morning, is check out the weather, then dress, gather my mat and head outside. So you can imagine how I felt today! The forecast was spot on and it was raining hard, with no sign of letting up. Gutted, I peered out and felt disappointment; I really didn’t fancy a teacher led class or my playlist music. I wanted to go out in the garden, find my spot and peacefully work through my morning routine.

As I listened to the rain, wondering what to do next, it dawned on me…

I made for the conservatory, opened one of the windows and the felt the fresh cool air on my face. Then I rolled out my yoga mat, sat in the middle of the open space  and saw myself in the faceted reflections around me. Closing my eyes, I settled and began with stretching. As I began to focus on the breath, I found my hearing was heightened; the raindrops soothing and calming as I moved with the flow. Even on a wet day like today, I was able to connect to nature and the environment and feel a sense of balance and peace. It felt like I had found my own little sanctuary.

green-84649__180

I particularly enjoyed my mediation session and honestly felt I could have stayed there all morning, but my cue to rise came from the cooing of our local pigeons. As I looked around, I was struck by the beauty of the raindrops on the clothes line, dripping like little jewels. I noticed the expanding circles in the puddles and leaves being gently washed away, just like my stresses and worries. Smiling, I tied away my yoga stuff and decided to make Blueberry Pancakes for a healthy breakfast!

Yoga is all about being in harmony and at one with nature. Water is so important, it is our life force. Using the melody of the early morning rain enhanced my yoga experience and it certainly was a refreshing. I really enjoyed it!

abstract-492530__180

No more rainy day blues for me…let it rain!

Namaste,

Frances🙏

2 thoughts on “Listen to the Rhythm of the Falling Rain….

Leave a Reply

