Looking at Life in Black and White…

β€œTo see in colour is a delight for the eye but to see in black and white is a delight for the soul.”

– Andri Cauldwell

The more I look at the work of fellow photographers and artists, I can’t help but notice, that black and white photography is becoming prominent and very popular. There is something special and striking about a quality black and white picture.

I have always been drawn to this style of artwork and have noticed how texture, drama and symmetry are enhanced by the rainbow of greys in black & white, monochrome and noir photos. Colour contrasts in real life can make stunning images in black and white, especially with the right composition and attention to detail.

This is a genre of photography I really want to work on and hopefully, my skills will improve. I was delighted, when I was invited to join aΒ Friday B&W Challenge via the EyeEm Community. Here are some of my recent submissions…

IMG_4199

A darling dahlia…

IMG_3996

My perspective…

IMG_4171

First fill a pan with cold water…

IMG_3871

Just rice…

IMG_4156

Sunday treat…

IMG_3379

I love lilies…

IMG_4190

Almost gone…

If any of my fellow bloggers have some sound advice, tips or tutorials, please feel free to link these to this post.

Many thanks,

FrancesπŸ˜‰

12 thoughts on “Looking at Life in Black and White…

  1. Gorgeous, I think the rice looks SO much better, as sit is difficult to photograph.
    I took a selection of black and white photos at the weekend, but have not posted them on here, I might put them on before I go on holiday as a little ‘ au revoir, a bientot’ You might like to see them even if no one else does.

    Like

Leave a Reply

