Maple Glazed Ham….

Think maple syrup is only great on pancakes and waffles? Think again!

-Federation of Quebec Maple Syrup Producers

IMG_4034

Glazed ham is so easy to prepare, cook and great to eat hot with roast potatoes and vegetables. It’s perfect cold for a summer salad and the left-overs can be used for savoury quiches, pies, pasta dishes and lunch-time sandwiches. There are many glazes that go well with ham, gammon or bacon joints, but my preference is Canadian Maple Syrup. 

I have loved Maple Syrup since I was a child; my parents emigrated to Canada when I was aged two and we lived in Mississauga till I was ten. We then returned home to Scotland. I still have so many fond memories of our time there.

 

Good News: Maple Syrup is a natural sweetener, it really is better for you and is a healthy alternative to other syrups.

Personally, I am not keen on honey, so I find the nutty flavour of a maple glaze ideal. I have used it in this recipe, but I often use it with lemon to glaze pan-sautéd vegetables, with walnuts and pecans to add crunch to peach tarts and not forgetting pancakes, which personally, I think deserve to be eaten anytime of the day…

Ingredients:

  • 750g unsmoked ham/bacon joint
  • 2 tsp dried English mustard
  • 2 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1 tablespoon brown soft sugar

IMG_4036

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 200ºC (180º for fan assisted ovens)/ 400ºF/ Gas Mark 6.
  2. Place the ham in a shallow roasting tin, cover loosely with tin foil and roast for 50 mins.
  3. Remove from the oven, then using a sharp knife remove the skin, leaving the fat behind.
  4. Score the fat into a diamond pattern, spread a little mustard all over, then top with syrup and  sprinkle with the sugar.
  5. Return the joint to the oven for 30 more minutes or until the ham is golden all over.
  6. To serve warm, cover and leave to rest for about 20 minutes before carving.

I always buy 100% pure Canadian Maple Syrup and a little goes along way, adding a tasty twist to many of my recipes.

Mmmm…think I fancy pancakes🍴

pancakes

One thought on “Maple Glazed Ham….

  1. Pingback: Unleash the Quiche in You… | Loving Leisure Time

Leave a Reply

