Food for Thought…

“Cultivation to the mind is as necessary as food to the body.”

-Marcus Tullius Cicero

This morning, I woke and thought about how my life is going at the moment and soon realised, that I am on a learning and growing journey. As I embrace yoga and healthy eating, I am working on a balance for my mind and body; knowledge feeds the brain and good food nourishes and keep me alive and full of vitality.

 It is so true…we are what we eat! 

I do enjoy cooking and experimenting with new foods, flavours and textures and I strive to eat what I need and not always what I want. But what should I be eating to feed and sustain my brain, in particular, so I can function, mentally, and not just at this moment in time? After a bit of research, I was delighted to discover, that the nutrients I needed, were found in some of my favourite things to eat. Win..win…I guess that is why they are called superfoods!

walnuts

appetizer-2802_1280

walnuts-649721_1280

  • Wholegrains: wholemeal bread, cereals and pasta
  • Seeds and nuts: pumpkin seeds, pine nuts and walnuts
  • Oily fish: salmon, sardines and trout
  • Berries: blueberries, strawberries and rasberries
  • Greens: broccoli, asparagus and lettuce
  • Fresh herbs: basil, coriander and rosemary
  • Spices: turmeric, paprika and cayenne
  • Olive oil: including infused oils

And let’s not forget those fruits which are often mistaken for vegetables…avocados, tomatoes, peppers and olives.IMG_3532

red peppers

tomato salad

 And finally, remember to listen to your brain. When you feel thirsty, it’s a message; your body is telling you it needs rehydration, so drink plenty of water!

Happy cultivation everyone…eat to live and live to eat!

Leave a Reply

