Spiced Lamb and Indian inspired Gnocchi…

“Fusion Cuisine allows the introduction of foreign ingredients into our everyday lives, to enrich and stimulate us.”

Peter Gordon

To be honest, I created today’s recipe almost by chance. I had planned to cook with lamb, but wasn’t quite sure what I was going to do with it. I usually buy thin cut lamb chops to pan fry with chilli oil and smoked paprika, but the lambs steaks looked so fresh at my local supermarket. I chose them for a change and looked to my store cupboard and fridge for inspiration…

I really fancied something spicy, especially when I spied my newly acquired cumin, cardamon and garam masala.

               cardamom    cumin

I decided to Ready Steady Cook with what I had, which included some gnocchi. I know, gnocchi is usually used for an Italian themed dish, but nothing ventured, nothing gained; Indo-Italian fusion was now on the menu!

                     gnocchi    IMG_3596

Ingredients:

  • 400g lamb steaks
  • 1½ tbsp garam masala
  • Salt & pepper seasoning
  • 1 tbsp garlic infused oil
  • ½ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • ½ teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1 teaspoon cumin seeds
  • 1 medium yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 2 clove of garlic minced
  • 1 pepper (mix of red & green)
  • 200 ml passata
  • 100 vegetable stock
  • 150gm fresh gnocchi

Method

  • Coat the lamb steaks with half the garam masala and season.
  • Heat the oil, in a wide saute-pan, then cook the lamb for 2-3 mins on both sides.
  • Remove from the pan, and place in a small dish or foil-made tray and place in a preheated oven, while the rest of the dish is prepared.
  • Place the cumin seeds, ground pepper and chilli flakes to the pan and return to the hob. Once heated, add the chopped onion and cook till soft.
  • Next add the garlic and peppers for 1 minute, then add the rest of the garam masala.
  • Carefully add the passata and stock, season to taste, cover and simmer whilst the gnocchi is prepared.
  • Add the gnocchi to a pan of salted boiling water, when they float to the top, drain and add the spicy tomato sauce.
  • Simmer uncovered for 1-2 minutes.
  • Remove the lamb from the oven and serve with the indian spiced gnocchi and asparagus or green beans.

IMG_3534-0

Actually, it all turned out well and my husband loved it.

I now feel inspired and confident to experiment with fusion in my food from now on….now it’s your turn!

Leave a Reply

