Spice up your Sea Bass…


“In the hands of an able cook, fish can become an inexhaustible source of perpetual delight.”

Jean-Anthelme Brillat-Saravin (1755-1826)

This is my new manta… “I am an able cook” and with my ever favourite ingredients of chilli and garlic, let me introduce you to our Friday night special, chez Sutherland; Chilli spiced Sea Bass with crushed potatoes and asparagus.

spiced sea bass

After returning from my recent holiday in Portugal, I am left with a yearning for more fresh fish; it was part of my staple diet when I was abroad.

At home I can never quite achieve that wonderful char-grilled flavour that I associate with my alfresco dining, so I am more than happy to cook and eat fish with my essential oils and spices.

Let’s not forget, that fish is a low-calorie, high protein brain food and if you are eating oily fish, such as salmon, you can benefit from those much needed omega-3s, for a healthy heart. You can substitute the sea bass, for salmon or any other fish, in this recipe. What ever you choose, it works and tastes good!

Ingredients

  • 2 x sea bass fillets, about 100g each, skin on and scaled
  • I tbsp basil infused oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 fresh red chillies thinly shredded
  • I spring onion, sliced including the green tops
  • Dash of garlic infused oil
  • Half a lemon
  • Salt and pepper
  • 6-8 small potatoes halved, skins on
  • 6 stalks of asparagus
  • 3 plum tomatoes
  • Sprig of fresh coriander for garnish

lemonPreparation and cooking is quick and easy!   spring-onions

Method

  1. Add potatoes to a pan of salted boiling water, then simmer to cook, until soft and drain.
  2. Using a fork, roughly break up the potatoes.
  3. Add a dash of garlic infused oil, some sliced green tops of the spring onion, season, then cover with a lid and set aside.
  4. Season the fish with salt and pepper, then slash the skin 3 times.
  5. Heat I tbsp of basil infused oil to a saute-pan.
  6. Once hot, fry the fish, skin-side down, for a few minutes until almost cooked through or until the skin is very crisp and golden.
  7. Turn over, cook for another 30 secs-1 min then transfer and cover with an envelope of tin foil.
  8. Deglaze the pan with the juice of the lemon, add the  halved tomatoes, minced garlic, chilli and the rest of the spring onion.
  9. Fry gently for a minute and then remove from the heat to prevent over cooking.
  10. I like to use food rings for plating up. Fill the ring with the crushed potatoes, use the back of a spoon to press down, then gently remove the ring.
  11. Place the Sea Bass on top of the potato tower.
  12. Arrange the asparagus and tomatoes around the dish, then sprinkle the hot chilli, onion and garlic mixture on and around the fish.
  13. Finish off with a splash of basil infused oil and garnish with the sprig of coriander.

enjoyBon appetit… 🙂

ready to eat

8 thoughts on “Spice up your Sea Bass…

  1. I love sea bass! So many dishes you can come up with sea bass and they are so delicious as well.Please do say hello on my blog too sometimes.Would love to connect.I love cooking as well!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Recipe: Traditional Paella | Dan Does Food

Leave a Reply

