Chilli con Carne… my way

My love of all things chilli based goes with out saying, but did you know that my hot little friend is an up-and-coming power food?

I keep a chilli plant on my window sill, and harvest the fruits regularly. My store cupboard contains dried chilli flakes, cayenne, sweet paprika, smoked paprika and my essential standby, chilli infused oil. Adding chilli to my food, I get the flavour and kick I desire, but I also get so many health enhancing benefits.  

Chillies:                                           pepper-662550_640

  • ¬†boost the metabolism
  • improve circulation
  • lower cholesterol levels
  • supply antioxidants;¬†vitamins A, B and C, Iron, Potassium and Manganese
  • can clear up congestion
  • taste great
  • make you feel good

I use chillies in so many of my recipes. Recently I added ‘Carry on eating Curry’¬†to my blog. I was really pleased with the response I received, so I’ve decided to share a few more of my chilli inspired favourites with you. ¬†Please try out my version of an old classic, Chilli con Carne. I hope you enjoy it!

chilli con carne Ingredients

  • 500g extra lean steak mince
  • 1 pepper (I like to have a mix of colours)
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 birds eye chilli
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 200g tin of red kidney beans
  • 500g passata
  • 1 beef stock cube made up to 200ml
  • 2 tsp hot chilli powder
  • 2 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1 tbsp chilli infused oil
  • Pinch of sugar
  • Pinch of cayenne
  • Salt and pepper
  • 40g bassmati rice per person

Method

  1. Finely chop the onion, peppers, garlic and chillies
  2. Heat 1 tablespoon chilli infused oil in a large saute-pan and once hot, add the chilli powder, paprika, and cayenne until it bubbles.
  3. Then add the onion until it begins to soften.
  4. Next add the chopped peppers, chillies, garlic and cook for a further 3-4 minutes, stirring regularly
  5. Add a dash of chilli oil to the minced beef, break up the meat into small pieces and add to the pan and cook until browned.
  6. Add the passata, pinch of sugar, the made up beef stock cube and season with salt and pepper.
  7. Bring to the boil, then reduce the heat, cover and simmer for 30 minutes.
  8. Drain the can of red kidney beans and add to the pan. Simmer for a further 10 minutes.
  9. Take the lid off and simmer gently for 10 minutes.
  10. Add the rice to a pan of salted water, bring to the boil, simmer for 9 minutes and drain.

I like to serve my chilli with rice, a fresh salad and wraps. Add a some salsa, guacamole, soured cream and fresh lime for the perfect accompaniments. Ok, maybe an ice cold Sol beer and more lime!

lime

 Let me know if you try out my Chilli con Carne recipe!

One thought on “Chilli con Carne… my way

  1. Pingback: Holy Moley Guacamole… | Loving Leisure Time

Leave a Reply

